What Passes for Normal

Daily Prompt: Far From Normal

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might.  Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

I really do think of my life as boringly normal.  And I think that’s a good thing – most of the time.  I get just enough excitement occasionally to remind me how much I love ‘boringly normal.’  However I also know that my life is extremely blessed.  I am fortunate enough to have family close by, and we all get along pretty well.  I have a wonderful husband and kids (not perfect, but wonderful 🙂 ) – and in case I don’t remember on my own, there are plenty of people in my life who remind me – and frequently – how lucky I am.  🙂

Here is my list (I have done a LOT of lists lately – and all about me! Am I a soprano or what?!)

1. As stated up above, I have family close, and we get along.  Not everyone can say that!

2. Music is my favorite.  Oh, wait…that’s not much of a surprise, is it, considering I’m a musician… I love hard rock – primal and visceral – it gets me pumped for concerts, amongst other things.  That usually does surprise people.

3. My kids are proud of my musical accomplishments.  While I sometimes think of my job as treadmill-like (working hard but going no-where fast) they (and my daughter especially) tell their friends that I am an ‘opera singer’, which is way cooler than the other moms’ jobs (the ones who are accountants or nurses and actually come out ahead at the end of the fiscal year).  I guess I do have a pretty cool job – at least it’s one that I love!  And my kids are proud of me!  Have I mentioned that they’re teenagers?  This has to be both unique and odd, to have teens that think of their mother as something other than the often-annoying woman who takes care of them.  Not that they need taking care of, because they’re practically adults…

4.  Odd – I used to have straight hair – like, stick-straight, unless I had a perm – but now it’s curly.  I’m not sure when it changed over, but it did.  And I am so glad! I always envied my curly-topped friends.

5.  I am obsessed with lip balm. Really and Truly.  This is odd, but I’m used to it, so I don’t mind.

6.  Exciting – well, not really, but it’ll do.  I have a terrific sense of humor, and love to laugh.  Sometimes I’m the only one that finds my witty repartee funny, but mostly I amuse others too.  that can be exciting, especially when my brain is firing on all cylinders.

4 thoughts on “What Passes for Normal

Leave a Reply

