A Great Hope

I wrote this on Friday, April 12, for a friend who’s been hurting.  But as I had no way to deliver it at the time, and it turns out to be downright inspired, I had to put it somewhere permanent-like.

This is so important, and something it took me too long to learn.  I pray that you will learn early.  Read Psalm 103.  I hope you will read this, think and meditate and take it to heart.  These verses especially, take to heart.

3. …who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4. who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion.

12. …as far as the east is from the west,
so far has He removed our transgressions from us.

You are repentant, you have asked for forgiveness, and it is enough.  Jesus has paid the price, and you are free from your past.  God does not remember what He has forgiven – it is gone and truly forgotten.  Satan, though, loves to throw our past in our faces, saying, “You are not worthy! Do not forget what you have done!”  And we in our humanness remember and are wracked with guilt – guilt that, if we have repented, we are under no obligation to feel.  That doesn’t make it alright to sin – this is where guilt has its place – to recall us before we step into sin (again) or to bring us back to God when we do – the whisper of the Spirit saying, “Come home.”

Even Paul struggled and wrote about his battle with his own sinful nature.  Romans 7 and 8 are full of his – and our – human nature and the hope and salvation of Christ.

Romans 7:15 and 19

15. I do not understand what I do.  For what I want to do, I do not do, but what I hate to do.
19. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do – this is what I keep on doing.

Read the whole passage for full context, but then read Romans 8, for in the last verses is the joy of our faith.  No matter what, God loves us and Jesus has sanctified us.  We are made worthy – we are worthy – because They have said so.  Not by anything we have done or have not done.  We are human, and we will sin…We repent, and promise to sin no more, but to paraphrase Paul,  “what I want to do, I do not, and what I do not want to do, I do.”

And so Romans 8: 38 and 39 give us this assurance:

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,
neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth,
nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God
that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Nothing – NOTHING – can separate us from the love of God through Christ.  Alleluia, Amen!

Leave a Reply

