C is for … – April’s May Alphabet

For some reason C is hard for me today.  Should I do “C is for Comedy” or “C is for Caring?”  Or is there another C that I’m completely blanking on that should be done!?  Ugh – This alphabet thing is hard.  Maybe C is for Chronically second-guessing oneself into inaction… no, that’s no good…

Okay – I’m going with Comedy – bear with me.

I don’t know if you were as lucky as I was.  I was raised by parents who love to laugh, and have a great sense of humor.  I learned from an early age what ‘funny’ is – at least in our family – and how to recognize the comedy of life. I learned to appreciate everything from puns to sarcasm to physical humor.  I am not great at using puns, but a master at sarcasm and the dry delivery.  And I love silliness! – something for which my eye-rolling kids will vouch.  The Muppets were the comedic ideal in my house when I was a kid, and they had something for everyone – silly, sophisticated, punny or sarcastic.

Not that everything is funny – but there is humor in a great deal of life, and we can choose to see the funny side of things rather than the tragic side.  Because the tragedy is so much easier to bear with a little laughter.  I learned from parents, family, and friends that learning to laugh at oneself – not to take oneself too seriously – is a great way to put others at ease and make friends.  And I learned to surround myself with people who make me laugh.  My very best friends are the ones with whom I share laughter – every single time we get together.   Whether it’s a hushed giggle or a hearty hardy-har-har, or (my personal favorite) laugh-until-you-snort, or the omygosh-i-can’t-breathe silent mode (!) – we laugh.

I hope that you have friends and family like that, too.

And also, for every other child of the 70’s and 80’s, what alphabet post could possibly be complete without this? Because we all know that C is really for COOKIE!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

