H is for Hope – April’s May Alphabet

HOPE – vb. – to desire or long for with expectation of fulfillment.  Trust, reliance, faith.

I have found myself using the word ‘hope’ a great deal lately.  I have a sneaking suspicion that I use it a great deal in general, but have only recently noticed it.  That’s okay.  It is a wonderful word.  It is an optimistic word.  I HOPE!

One might think that ‘wish’ would be a synonym, but I don’t think so.  My old dictionary uses a number of the same words to define it, but not exactly.  WISH – vb. – [3rd definition] to request by expressing a desire.  Crave, hanker.  Maybe it’s a matter of semantics, but to me, wishing for something is expressing a desire and waiting someone else to provide.  Sometimes wishes come true.  Most of the time, they don’t.

Hope is caught up in a circle with faith and love – Anyone who has been to a Christian wedding  has probably heard 1 Corinthians 13.  The last verse of the chapter, which mostly talks about love, says this:  And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of these is love.  My Bible has notes at the bottoms of the pages that always offer insight into verses, and I love what it has to say about this last verse.

… Faith is the foundation and content of God’s message; hope is the attitude and focus; love is the action.

Hope is the attitude and focus – and it is followed naturally by action. (I may or may not use love as my L word, but it is important to note that love is an action – a verb, not an emotion.  But that’s a post for another day)

When I hope (and maybe it’s just me, but I sincerely doubt it) I also apply action!  I hope, and I do.  I hope that I am a good wife and mother, and to that end, I do whatever I can for my family to love them, support them, and help them.  I hope to be the best musician I can be, therefore I do – I practice and study and practice some more.  And when what I hope for is beyond my control, I pray.  Hope, followed by action.

When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”

 

You know, I wrote this whole thing, and I don’t want to waste it, so I will publish anyway, but I feel very strongly urged to publicly post an essay I wrote last month that was previously private, and then quietly made public after it would be further down in the archives.  It is also about hope, and is unabashedly Christian – expressing a very deeply held belief as best I could at the time.  I am shy about my faith, but I think it is time I took my own advice and did something Daring.  I’ll take the sheer terror I feel as a good sign.  Here’s the link to A Great Hope, from April 15th.

https://aprilbsoprano.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/for-my-friend/

Leave a Reply

