S is for Senses – April’s May Alphabet

What’s the commercial that tells you to indulge your senses?   I can’t remember, but I agree with the concept.  I am a very sense-oriented person – I suppose everyone is, since it’s how we get around in life.  If I have two favorites – although I wouldn’t want to do without any of them! – they would be hearing and smell.  My sense of hearing is a critical tool of my musicianship.  Beethoven’s example notwithstanding, I am not sure how I would be able to work without it.  As for my olfactory senses, I have a previous post called Smelly Things that explains this in great detail.

Maybe I shouldn’t have chosen favorites – for one thing, I feel a bit like I’m testing fate – and for another, now I’m thinking of the others, and how much I enjoy them, too…

My sight – I love to look at beautiful things, to enjoy the physical beauty of God’s creation.  Anything from a sunset to wild animals to a striking person.  I like, too, to see man-made creations – beautiful artwork and architecture, furniture…and books!  I love to read.  And write – I guess I could still type, but it’s not the same.  I love writing the old-fashioned way, with pen or pencil on paper.

My taste – hmm – I don’t give much thought to this one, but I would miss it, too.  Chocolate, and coffee, and the first strawberries of the season.  pecan pie… Oh – a really well-prepared salmon…hamburgers… and it goes hand in hand with my sense of smell, which I think I said was one of my favorites… I may have to rethink that…

And my sense of touch – I take it so much for granted – it’s not just the things that I touch with my own hands, but everything that touches me, from head to toe – from the feel of a brush running through my hair to the feel of grass under my feet.  A hug or a kiss – what in the world would it be like not to feel that?   My kids’ hair as I lazily pull it through my fingers…  Soft cotton dresses in the summer – the warmth of the summer sun on my shoulders, and the welcome cool of a glass of iced tea on a hot day.  Or the sting of sleet in the winter (maybe I could do without this one) – the prickle of the pine needles on a Christmas tree or wreath…

So never-mind – It looks like I don’t have a favorite.  I am a complete glutton for sensory perception of all sorts.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

