W is for Wit – April’s May Alphabet

I love witty people.  Friends who are quick with a come-back or a smart remark make me think and make me laugh.  The best kind of wit is the spontaneous sort – when one is trying to be witty, it often falls flat – but the retort without thought – that’s how you can tell someone is a clever bunny.  I do my best to surround myself with the clever bunnies. 🙂  And if you can take me by surprise and make me laugh when the situation calls for more a serious demeanor… you are in like Flynn. A note, in case you are looking for witty friends:  Keep an eye on the quiet ones.  They often have a sharp wit and sly tongue hidden beneath the mild-mannered exterior.

Wit is so shining a quality that everybody admires it; most people aim at it, all people fear it, and few love it unless in themselves. A man must have a good share of wit himself to endure a great share of it in another.  ~Lord Chesterfield

 

Leave a Reply

