Summertime favorites, part four

Every year for the past 17 years we have gone to North Carolina for a week at the beach. This is always a highlight, not only of the summer, but of the year. The pleasure of sitting in the sand, hearing and watching the incessant roll of the surf as the tide comes in and out is hard to describe. It is not really “happy-making”, but fills me with a sense of deep peace and contentment. I lived half my life without the beach, and never knew what I was missing. But now I can’t quite wrap my head around the thought of a year without this week away.

20130709-080306.jpg

Leave a Reply

