Silver and Gold

Did you learn this song when you were a kid? It’s a simple little ditty with these words:

Make new friends, and keep the old;
One is silver and the other gold.

Last night (or, rather, very early this morning) I had the opportunity to make a few new friends, and had a simply lovely time.  It isn’t always easy, but sometimes stepping out of one’s comfort zone, even just a bit, can reap unexpected rewards.  I suppose I should more rightly call us friendly acquaintances, but every friendship starts somewhere.

This afternoon, we had lunch with dear friends (I won’t call us old – we’re rather sensitive about that word).  It is wonderful to have pals with whom one can be comfortable, with no airs and no worries.  We may not see each other often, but I always come away from our time together turning to Mike and exclaiming what fun we had – I so enjoy spending time with the other couple, and we should get together more often!

My friends, my treasure.

Leave a Reply

