A Little Shakespeare for New Year’s Eve

For some reason this bit of verse came to me this morning – It isn’t particularly related to NYE, it’s just something I thought of.  It is a common enough bit that I think many recognize it, even if they aren’t sure precisely where they’ve heard it.  (It’s from Twelfth Night, Act 2, scene 3 – I, too, had to look it up).  I wish I had something more profound to say at the end of one year, the beginning of another, but I don’t.  What do I think of when I hear this?  Well, to begin with, I hear the music to a piece that was commissioned years ago for a group I sang with.  The composer set these words to some beautiful tunes.  If I ever find a recording, I may post it, for I like it better than other versions I’ve heard over the years.

And then I think of living in the present.  So many of us (myself included at times) live, not in the present, but by dwelling on the past, or with both eyes constantly on the future, unable to enjoy the now.  My New Year’s hope for you is that you live “of the moment” – truly present in every day of 2014.  And I hope for you true love, laughter, and kisses!

 

O Mistress mine, where are you roaming?
O stay and hear! your true-love’s coming
That can sing both high and low;
Trip no further, pretty sweeting,
Journeys end in lovers’ meeting—
Every wise man’s son doth know.

What is love? ’tis not hereafter;
Present mirth hath present laughter;
What’s to come is still unsure:
In delay there lies no plenty,—
Then come kiss me, Sweet-and-twenty,
Youth’s a stuff will not endure.

Leave a Reply

