Daily Prompt: Linger

Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

 

When I am with friends I see seldom – I want to linger over coffee or dinner – anything to spend just a few more moments with them.  I can think of a few (and I’m positive you know exactly who you are!) I see rarely, and time with them is precious.  Even a phone call – I will say goodbye and yet not hang up for another ten minutes – I don’t want goodbye to be goodbye, because I am not sure when we’ll manage to connect again.   We may not be talking about anything more important than the weather (though we usually are – dreadfully important things!) but hearing their voice or seeing their dear face, I am reluctant to have it end.   Even if I know (as certain as I can be, at any rate) that I will see them again, in a few months; I will talk to them again, in a few weeks… For those few… it’s never soon enough.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/daily-prompt-linger/

Leave a Reply

