DPChallenge: Friend-ing

DPChallenge:
Do you find it easy to make new friends?
Tell us how you’ve mastered the art of befriending a new person.

I had to laugh reading the challenge – No – I do NOT find it easy to make new friends.  It’s one of the hardest things in life.

I am (generally) friendly to all.  And I would say that I am perceived as having many friends.  In truth, I have many acquaintances, friendly acquaintances, and almost-friends.  But true friends…not so many.  A few.

Do I find it easy to be friendly?  Or to set others at ease?  Yes – it’s why I think I am perceived as having many friends.  That is easy!  Show genuine kindness in your interactions with others, and actually listen when they converse with you.  I can be a friend if one is needed.  I love to bring comfort and ease to others – it makes me genuinely happy, and, I think, fulfills my purpose in life.

However, I find it exceedingly difficult to let others do the same for me.  I suppose it’s a character flaw.  So perhaps…I have mastered one aspect of befriending, and am remedial at the other aspect.  Is it something I wish I was better at?  Meh – maybe sometimes, but usually no.  I am happy with a handful of beautiful friends.  As seasons change, the handful shifts, but a handful is just the right number for me.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/prompt-cant-we-be-friends/

15 thoughts on “DPChallenge: Friend-ing

Leave a Reply

