Small-town fireworks

It’s late and I’m tired, but I said “31 day challenge” so here we are.

This evening we celebrated Independence Day in my home town. As a family we get together for burgers & brats and summertime foods, and sit out in my parents’ yard visiting until the fireworks start. My dad mentioned that this is our 30th celebration here. Wow. Am I even old enough to have lived here 30 years? I suppose I am.

I’ve never missed a celebration. Even in high school and college when I worked evenings, I always made it home in time for the fireworks. Good times. Over the years the display has gotten bigger and better, but it’s still the same in other ways. I hope it always maintains the small town feeling, the sense that this is home and there’s no other place I’d rather be.

Leave a Reply

