Today’s Inspiration

I bought a book today.  I saw it in the local bookstore and thought, “my mom had that book!” And it appealed to me in the moment, so I picked it up.  I couldn’t remember what it was about – perhaps a daily devotional? – so I read the back.  Yes, it was a daily devotional of sorts, but not the traditional Christian ones I’m used to.  The book is called Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach, and it has a daily reading for every day of the year- including leap day.  Most simply put, it’s about becoming acquainted with your authentic self, and living true to that self.  Each day is begun with a quote or lines from a poem (I think. I only leafed through it, and only read one day.) and then a reflection on that.

I think it is a beautiful book, and a beautiful idea.  I see quite plainly why my mom and millions of other women have the book.  I realized, too, that my mom was about my age when she bought it or was given it.  Is it something about being mid-life that makes us all more aware, or more deliberate about becoming our authentic selves?

Perhaps we finally realize that being our real self is what matters in life.  I know I don’t have time anymore to waste on people that are negative and drain my energy. I weed those people out of my life, or spend as little time as possible with them. By the same token (and seemingly in direct contradiction to that statement) I find that I am a lot more tolerant of people, and loving toward them. We are each carrying our own crosses, and just because I don’t see someone’s doesn’t mean it’s not there.

So I will begin reading my new book, smack in the middle of the year, and take to heart the hard-earned and generously shared lessons of the author.  I’m looking forward to reading them, and to being inspired to lead an ever more authentic life, in simple abundance.

Oh, and the page that caught my eye?
June 15: Secret Anniversaries of the Heart. 

The holiest of holidays are those
Kept by ourselves in silence and apart,
The secret anniversaries of the heart…
–Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

http://www.amazon.com/Simple-Abundance-Daybook-Comfort-Joy/dp/0446563595

3 thoughts on “Today’s Inspiration

  1. My late Mother followed the Simple Abundance plan for a year around 1999. She did not complete it due to other urgent issues she was facing. She passed on in 2011 and I find myself missing our relationship, especially the special tea times when we got into our spirituality and shared experiences.

    This year I started following the book, as well as using the daily conversation journal, the gratitude journal and the golden mirror meditation. There is good to be derived from this but I also find it a big challenge. How did you progress? Did you do the complete year?

    In part I find that because of economic constraints it is not easy to enter into the “one day at a time” mentality. This is especially so when seeking new work opportunities and balancing the demands of staying within a limited budget. I plan to do this for as long as possible but sometimes it feels like lulling myself into believing things are alright when in fact they are not.

    Sometimes the struggle and the restlessness of not feeling that there is enough is a powerful motivator to do something to resolve the situation I’d be interested in hearing your experience and if there were any changes to your life.

    Thanks for reading this.

    1. Hi Emily, and thank you for taking time to read and comment!

      I didn’t do very well, honestly. The busyness of life got in the way (how’s that for irony?) and I stopped about 2 weeks in. I tried again beginning January 1 this year, and did 3-4 days before again letting my life interrupt my intention. Even so, I think I am better at being present in life than I was, say six months ago, or even a year. But as far as following the book… not so much! You have inspired me to pick it back up again, though. 🙂 I will have to graze through January, and as tomorrow is Feburary 1, it’s a good place to start.

  2. Hey April… I am enjoying some of your blog posts…. this one struck me because I wrote a blog about abundance. I don’t know what your book says, but now I want to get it. Below are two blog posts I hope you enjoy. One is appropriate because of abundance and my humble take on it. The other is about my mom’s death, and this is Mother’s Day week.

    I also liked your post on grief. I saw it was from 2014, so hoping you have ALLOWED your grief to process. It is very important to grieve. I read a book on grief recently and the author makes the point that a lot of Christians think they shouldn’t grieve for loss… then he points out the shortest verse I the bible… Jesus wept!! Jesus grieved like any other human. He cried openly. And he KNEW where he was going and all the things we don’t know.

    Point being… NEVER be afraid or ashamed of crying! Crying can actually help others as well. The author made a point about a father who refused to cry in front of his kids about the death of his wife. His 8 year old daughter asked him “Daddy you never cry about mom. Don’t you miss her like I do?”… he cried openly with his daughter and healed BOTH of them!

    http://yourdalyhug.blogspot.com/2015/05/mothers-are-special.html

    http://yourdalyhug.blogspot.com/2015/03/abundance.html

    Ok, enough of that… I hope you enjoy my blog posts. Look forward to more of yours.

    Rodney Daly

Leave a Reply

