If we were having coffee…in December

I made us coffee – and there are brownies and cookies as well. Let’s sit here by the fireside, all toasty warm while we catch up a little. I’ve missed you!

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that December got off to an exciting/bittersweet start. The Young Man (whom I used to call Boy-Child, but who has since turned 20) struck out on his own adventure, truly away from family for the first time. He is in Basic Military Training for the next couple months, followed by Technical School and a permanent duty assignment somewhere far away from us. We are so proud! We miss him. We have every confidence that he is following not only his heart, but God’s Will for his life. Have I mentioned our family pride? We spent the day and evening preceding his departure together, just the four of us, and had a wonderful, simple, memorable time. I love my family.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I finished “Revisions, part one” of Book 2 yesterday. Revisions, part two should be easy (but probably won’t be) as it consists of writing new scenes to flesh out the story a little,  and I intend to have a product out to a few select ‘beta readers’ by Christmas. This book is coming together, slowly but surely! As I read through it, making changes all the while, I will tell you that I am struck by how much I still love my characters. For all that I have occasionally cursed this process, the revisions and edits are entirely for the good of the story, and I can see improvement! Our goal is to make sure the reader can’t imagine it any other way! 🙂

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’ve barely begun my Christmas shopping.  I adore shopping! And I love choosing the perfect gift for my loved ones. But I have been trying to keep myself indoors to work on the book, and shopping seems such an indulgence. I will have to get it done, perhaps next week.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I also haven’t started my Christmas cards yet. One of my favorite holiday traditions is the sending of Christmas greetings. I love picking out the cards I’ll mail, I find joy in addressing and signing each one, I adore choosing photos for the newsletter that is tucked inside! I love it so much, I usually start in early November so that I may send them out the first week of December. This year-end has been topsy-turvy and they are sitting nearby (they were in the basement until only a few days ago) all neatly packaged and ready to be opened. I intend to start them today – one way or another, I will address a card! I may have to forgo the newsletter, which makes me sad, but perhaps I can send a newsletter later.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that for all my grand plans of running through the winter, I have only been out 4 times since my half-marathon in October. In the busyness of life (teaching, singing, writing/editing, and home-making), it seems the only expendable activity (besides shopping!). I miss it. But not enough to give up something else. I have plans to run a New Year’s Day 10K. I will do it, but I may be walking more than running, and I will surely be sorry I didn’t train more. However, in my ever-optimistic way, I am looking forward to beginning the year as I mean to go on.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I got to sing the soprano solos for Handel’s Messiah again this year. This music is magical – it never grows old. I will never tire of hearing it, of singing it, of absorbing its message. An abstract goal of mine (one I will have to think about and lay plans for soon) is to sing it in its entirety, which I have yet to do. My favorite aria is from Part III and I want to perform it someday.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you my wish list consists of very few ‘things’. My greatest joys at Christmas are attending Christmas Eve services, snuggling up with my family and enjoying their presence, and watching them open gifts I have lovingly chosen for them. (and lest I sound like a pretentious pseudo-saint, my list is ever more expensive the shorter it gets… and the little things, I’d just as soon pick up for myself – I love shopping, remember?!)

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you what you’ve been doing since Thanksgiving. How are you handling the busyness of the season? Have you begun or finished your shopping/mailings/decorating? Tell me your favorite Christmas music. What’s on your wish list this year?

Wishing you every happiness, this month and always, from my heart to yours. Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “If we were having coffee…in December

  1. Thanks for the coffee April. Not to make you feel pressured, but I have finished my shopping, decorating, mailings, AND wrapping :0). I love all Christmas music. Silent Night is one of my favorites. The Little Drummer Boy. And as you know me, I love funny… so Bob Rivers Twisted Christmas music makes me laugh! Since Thanksgiving I have just been working, hanging out with my girlfriend, and volunteering at an Easter Seals Camp in Wisconsin. Watching sappy Christmas movies and listening to Christmas music. I don’t really wish for a whole lot. I just want to continue on my Happy Road that I am already on :0). I will be here in Wisconsin for Christmas just relaxing with my girlfriend and her family. We are going to Sarasota for New Years. I am cruising with my friend Susan at the end of February and hope/plan on going to Russia in April. Taking time off in March and April and planning on working camp in Colorado this summer. I wonder how much God is laughing at me right now, but those are MY plans anyway. Ha Ha Ho Ho Ho. Have a Merry Happy Christmas and a DelightFULL New Years.

    1. Wow… Not pressured, just a little bit jealous! 🙂 Sounds like you have a wonderful few months ahead of you! 🙂 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well, Rodney. 🙂

Leave a Reply

